VGMA 2019: Sarkodie takes the ultimate Artist of the Decade Award, Shatta Wale and Stonebwoy go wild, plus the full list of winners.

It was a grand festival of music as the 2019 Vodafone Ghana music Awards(VGMA) coincided with the 20th anniversary of the awards scheme, and as anticipated, Ghana’s biggest music night, the VGMA lived up to high expectations to thrill patrons with the extravagance, glitz and glamour of the 20 years celebration. The event saw performances from the likes of Sarkodie, Samini, Amakye Dede, Burna Bwoy, King Promise and Kuami Eugene. However, had to miss performance from Shatta Wale, Stonebwoy and Diana Hamilton due to a clash between Shatta Wale and Stonebwoy.

The unfortunate incidence was that, the show got abruptly halted due to a hullabaloo triggered by ‘unhappy’ Shatta Wale who allegedly opposed his colleague, Stonebwoy’s victory over him in the raggae/dancehall artist of the year category win, by storming the stage with his squad when Stonebwoy was announced winner and went on stage to receive the award. Stonebwoy allegedly pulled out a gun as there was a combat between squad members of the two parties.

Complete list of winners:

Artist of the Decade: Sarkodie

Album of the year: Rock star – Kuami Eugene

Best new artist – Wendy Shay

Group of the year: Bethel revival choir

Best African Collaboration of the year: Akwaaba- Guilty beats ft Mr Eazi ,Pappy Kojo , Patapaa

Rapper of the year: Medikal

African artist of the year: Burma Boy

Best male vocalist; Kidi

Song engineer of the year: Francis osei

Music producer of the year: Kuami Eugene

Song writer of the year: king Promise
Collaboration Of The Year – Stonebwoy ‘Kpoo Keke’ ft Kwesi Arthur & Darko Vibes.

Record of the year: Akwaboah- Hye me bo

Best music video: MzVee ft Yemi Alade- Come n see my mother

Raggae/Dancehall artist of the year: Stonebwoy

Hip life/Hip Pop artist of the year: Medikal

Highlife artist of the year: Kuami Eugene

Gospel artist of the year: Diana Hamilton

Afro Pop song of the year: Guilty beats Ft Mr. Eazi, Pappy Kojo, Patapaa – Akwaaba

Hiplife song of the year: Yaa Pono ft Stonebwou – Obia wo ne master

Hip hop song of the year: Kwesi Arthur – Anthem

Raggae/Dancehall song of the year: Shatta Wale – Gringo

Highlife song of the year: Shatta Wale – My Level

Gospel song of the year:

Diana Hamilton – Mo ne yor

Life time achievement Award winners:

1. Dr. Mrs Mary Ghansah

2.JA Adofo

3.Professor Kofi Abraham.

Instrumentalist of the year: Mizter Okyere

Traditional Artist of the year: Kwan Pa

We also await the announcement two category winners, which were withheld due to the Shatta- Stonebwoy fiasco, in a press conference.

Related posts

Leave a Comment